top of page
Search
  • japan5odtohans

Vision/Goal (Recognizing that the LORD redirects as He wills)

Updated: May 21, 2019

Written by Anthony


When discerning my gifts/talents, I would say that I am gifted at teaching (Bible & English) & evangelism. These gifts have also been confirmed by church leaders, elders, and fellow mission team members.


With these gifts in mind, and as I consider my situational context in sub-rural Japan as "the area of influence God has assigned" (2 Cor. 10:13) to me in particular, I would summarize my vision/goal/aim as:


"Reaching Japanese people THROUGH English evangelistic ministries so that they may come to know the One, True God."


I desire to reach out to JAPANESE KIDS and their PARENTS (through Kids ESL programs AND a future ESL program as the main feature of a future kindergarten that aims to be openly evangelistic). Reaching kids enables us to reach their parents, which will impact the entire family.


I also desire to reach Adults DIRECTLY (through ESL programs for adults).


I enjoy leading English Bible Studies, especially our current one that meets on Sunday mornings that uses the proof texts of the Westminster Shorter Catechism as our discussion outline.


I foresee myself leading 2 types of Bible Studies in the near future:

a. Evangelistic (learn the Bible through interest in English)

b. Adult Sunday School for new & current church members (English & Theology/Discipleship Training)


I desire to do evangelism in the present context of the local existing church community and a missionary team -- not as a solo worker! -- knowing that the work of evangelism is PRIMARILY the LORD's work and we are called to participate as co-laborers (ESV says "fellow workers" in 1 Cor. 3:9) who are "working together with" (2 Cor. 5:6) the LORD as ambassadors for Christ (2 Cor. 5:20).

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Making a DIFFERENCE together

Anthony’s Role: A 5-year Commitment (which CAN change as the LORD redirects) Aside from Anthony’s continued involvement as staff of “Alive International” which is the bilingual congregation for Sunda

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page